IHC Q/FINAL - Drumree Fall to Gaeils

Intermediate Hurling Championship Quarter Final

Gaeil Colmcille 1-15 Drumree 0-12

Drumree started very brightly but hit two wides including one from a routine free before Gaeil Colmcille scored two points in their first two attacks. David Reilly eventually got Drumree off the mark with a great score from play after 9 minutes. Drumree were on top during this period and Josh Wall put three superb frees from distance over the bar to leave Drumree ahead by two.

Gaeil Colmcille hit back with three points from play before Josh again levelled matters with a point from play after good work by Shane Gallogly and David Reilly put them ahead with his second. Gael Colmcille then went three ahead with four unanswered points as Drumree posted three wides.

A point apiece from Josh and Brian Coughlan left just one point in it at the break.

HT:  Gaeil Colmcille 0-9, Drumree 0-8.

Drumree rang the changes at half time as Shane Troy and Brendan Walsh replaced Brian Coughlan and Keith Rooney. The loss of Brian Coughlan was to prove crucial in the second half as his presence would have given the mentors more team placement options when things started to go wrong.

Josh levelled and for the next ten minutes Shane Troy from play and Josh from a free swopped points with Gaeil Colmcille to leave the score 0-11 each.

Gaiel Colmcille then hit a purple patch and scored 1-4 without reply. Drumree tried hard to get back into the game but the forwards were well marshalled by the Gael Colmcille defence and their only reward was a point which was deflected over the bar from a Shane Troy free which had goal as the intended target.

Best for Drumree were a superb James Gaughan in defence helped by the hard working Johnny Gilsenan. Fergal “Rambler” Delaney worked tirelessly in midfield with Josh Wall and David Reilly the pick of the forwards in an overall disappointing display.

Drumree: Sean Whyte, Paul Walsh, James Gaughan, Paul Kiernan, Johnny Gilsenan, Duncan Geraghty, Garath Rooney, Gavin Byrne, Fergal Delaney, Shane Gallogly, David Reilly (0-2), Josh Wall (0-7, 5f), Brian Coughlan (0-1), Keith Rooney, Mark Devanney.

Subs: Shane Troy (0-2, 1f) and Brendan Walsh for Keith Rooney and Brian Coughlan.