Senior Hurlers lose to Dunboyne

Senior Hurling Championship

Venue: Longwood

Opponents: St Peters Dunboyne

Half Time: St. Peters Dunboyne 2-06 Drumree 1-00

Full Time: St. Peters Dunboyne 3-10 Drumree 1-04

Drumree got their Senior Hurling Campaign under way with a bad loss to Dunboyne. This was a game that Drumree never really looked like winning.

It wet conditions; it was Dunboyne who took an early lead with a Neil Hackett free. Moments later a long ball sent into Davy Troy was superbly won in the air and the free was awarded on the 21. Up stepped Shane Troy to bury the ball to the back of the net to give an early 1-00 to 0-01 lead.

However Dunboyne were quick to respond with their own goal. Neill Hackett sending the side line ball into the square for Michael Dunne to run onto and flick to the net. Another goal soon arrived after a bad mistake at the back left the easiest of goals for Michael O’Grady to tap in. Quick points followed to leave it 2-04 to 1-00. Drumree just couldn’t get into the game despite the best efforts of Gareth Rooney & Ciaran Kenny at the back.

They were dealt a lifeline when Michael Dunne received a straight red for a high tackle on Goal Keeper Dermie Doyle. However it was Dunboyne who had the last say of the first half with a Neil Hackett free, leaving it 2-06 to 1-00 at the half time whistle.

As the second half started Drumree began to hurl and knocked over two points in quick succession. The first from Shane Troy followed quickly by a long range effort from Brendan Walsh. However danger was never far away and another Dunboyne goal soon followed courtesy of the lively Niall Smyth.

James Reilly converted a free on the 45 soon after to leave it 3-07 to 1-03. However it was Dunboyne who pushed on with 3 unanswered scores. The last score of the game came from a great effort out on the side line by Shane Troy however it was too little too late for Drumree as Dunboyne ran out easy winners.

Best for Drumree were: Gareth Rooney, Ciaran Kenny & Shane Troy

Dermot Doyle, Keith Commons, Kit Doyle, Gareth Rooney, Brendan Walsh, Ciaran Kenny, James Gaughan, John Crimmins, Duncan Geraghty, Keith Rooney, David Crimmins, Shane Troy, Johnny Gilsenan, David Troy, Feargal Delaney. Subs – James Reilly for Johnny Gilsenan (h-t) Cillian Dennehy for James Gaughan,  GT Troy for Shane Troy