U13 Champions

Drumree U13 Hurling Champions 2012

Drumree/Blackhall Gaels 3-9     Ratoath 2-10        Under 13 Shield Hurling Final


The Drumree/Blackhall Gaels combination started brightly in this Final played in Dunganny on Wednesday evening.They dominated play and lead by seven points near the end of the first half,with Andrew Leneghan scoring the only goal.Ratoath hit back  to leave the interval score 1-6 to 1-4 in favour of Drumree/BHG.

It was nip and tuck throughout the second-half,with never more than a score between the teams.With seven minutes left on the clock, Drumree/BHG lead by a point but were dealt a blow when Ratoath struck for a goal.Drumree/BHG went back up the pitch and won a free 30 metres out and in front of the goal.Niall Gavin stepped up and coolly drilled the sliotar to the back of the net to leave us leading by two points.

With time nearly up Ratoath scored another goal,but to their credit the Drumree/BHG boys didn’t drop their heads and deep in injury-time won a long range free.The ball was dropped into the edge of the square and broke-out to Paddy Conway,who burst through and drove the ball low and hard for goal, to set of wild scenes of celebration.The final score was 3-9 to 2-10 in favour of Drumree/BHG

This was a real team performance with the whole squad of eighteen players contributing handsomely to the victory.Special mention has to go to goal-keeper Conor Jones who returning from  injury, put in a man of the match performance with pinpoint puck-outs and some wonderful saves.There were also outstanding performances from Jamie Rattigan, Ross McQuillan,Daniel Byrne,Niall Hurley and David Fildes.


Drumree/Blackhall Gaels;Conor Jones,Conor Moyles,Jamie Rattigan,Liam Hanley,Niall Hurley,Ross Mc Quillan,Daniel Byrne,Paul Briody,Matthew Costello,David Fildes,Paddy Conway,Kevin Bawle,Padraig Clinton,Andrew Leneghan,Niall Gavin,Odhran O’Riordan,Jonathan Pearle,Luke Mitchell