Crimmins Snatches Dramatic Win For Drumree

intermediate 2010Intermediate Hurling Championship Final 13th September 2010

Sub David Crimmins pounced for a goal in the sixth minute of stoppage time at the end of a closely contested Bio-Pure Technologies IHC final at Trim on Sunday to earn Drumree a dramatic win over Boardsmill.

Despite shooting nine second-half wides, wind assisted Boardsmill looked set to make an immediate return to the senior ranks when referee Gerry Keoghan penalised defender Bernard McLoughlin for appearing to foul the ball.

It seemed a harsh call, but Drumree full-back Shane Troy's effort was parried into the path of Crimmins who netted from close range.

Boardsmill did have one late chance to force a replay but Niall O'Rourke's free from just outside his own 45 drifted left and wide and Mickey Cole's charges prevailed.

Stephen Doyle took scoring honours for Drumree with eight points (seven frees and a 65). However the new holders of the Tommy Kane Cup are indebted to a tenacious defence that made it difficult for Boardsmill to capitalise on the chances the came their way.

Drumree found it difficult to make the most of the elements in the early stages and the most they led by was two points on as many occasions in the opening 17 minutes when it was 0-4 to 0-2.

Apart from Doyle, John Crimmins was their sole other scorer in the early stages. When O'Rourke netted in the 21st minute, Boardsmill hit the front for the first time.

Eight minutes later Niall Weir goaled for the 'Mill and David Troy's charges were four points to the good despite playing against the strong wind.

Drumree posted the last three scores of the half with Brian Coughlan's effort from play complimenting two Doyle efforts from frees and they trailed by a point at the break, 0-8 to 2-3.

Drumree replaced their entire full-forward line at the interval. Nearly 18 second-half minutes elapsed before the next score arrived courtesy of the 'Mill's Stephen Gibbons.

When Thomas Leonard sent over from the right in the 54th minute it looked like the cue for Boardsmill to kick-on and take the tile.

It proved to be their final flag as Drumree's determination was rewarded in memorable fashion.

Drumree - R. Curley; C. Kenny, S. Troy, S. McGroder; P. Walsh, C. King, J. Gilsenan; B. Walsh, B. Coughlan (0-1); S. Doyle (0-8, 7fs, 1 65), J. Crimmins (0-1), D. Wallace; C. Doyle, F. Delaney, L. Shanley. Subs - D. Crimmins (1-0) for C. Doyle, J. Reilly for Delaney, K. Rooney for Shanley (all ht).

Boardsmill - S. Masterson; P. Guy, V. Guy, B. McLoughlin; R. Hatton, D. Farrell, E. Corrigan; N. McLoughlin (0-1), E. Cribbin; N. O'Rourke (1-3, 0-1 f, 0-1 65), S. Gibbons (0-1), M. Conway; J. Pratt, N. Weir (1-0), T. Leonard (0-1). Subs - C. Flattery for Cribbin (40), J. Flood for P. Guy (52).

Referee - G. Keoghan (Kilmessan)